History Lives in Geary County

One of the older and most notable communities in Kansas, Junction City and Geary County are filled with history and notable people who make this a great place to visit. From the 1800s to the present, we've welcomed people from around the world and we'll welcome you!
A memorial garden with sculptures
You'll discover many sites to see, the majority open five-days a week with free admission. Visit the Geary County Historical Museum, 1st Territorial Capitol of KS, Kansas Vietnam Veterans Memorial, Civil War Arch, 9th and 10th Buffalo Soldier Memorial, Spring Valley Heritage Site, U.S. Cavalry Museum, 1st Infantry Division Museum, Custer House and more!

To read about the history of Junction City and Geary County, please visit the Geary County Historical Society website.

Fort Riley Access

Visitors without a Department of Defense (DOD) identification card who wish to enter Fort Riley are reminded that a temporary Fort Riley Access Pass or Badge is required.

If you know the exact date of your visit, it is highly recommended to get a temporary pass or badge early by stopping by the Visitor Control Center or you can send an email. Emails will be answered within 48 hours Monday through Friday and 72 hours if received Saturday through Sunday. Please note there are longer wait times for passes during periods of higher traffic - especially weekday mornings and weekday afternoons-when Soldiers and civilian employees are traveling to work and physical fitness activities.

If you're unable to get a pass early, make sure to allow extra time the day of your visit to get through processing at the Visitor Control Center. The Visitor Control Center (Bldg 885) is located just prior to the Henry Gate Access Control Point (Exit 301, U.S. Interstate Highway 70) and is open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Read Id Act Standards

In order to comply with federal Real ID Act standards, starting March 1, Fort Riley will require additional identification for visitors with a driver's license from the following states: Illinois, Minnesota, Missouri, New Mexico and Washington View a full list of acceptable forms (PDF).